There is a lot to tell about the artist
James Lee Byars (1932 – 1997)
the most famous unknown artist

Where to begin ….
Today I wrote some memories.
In Praise of Folly
dd. 14 – 2 – 2016  Valentines Day (Day of Roses)

 

pdd-JL BYARS-THE SAGE OF ROTTERDAM 1984 HR 05

The Sjaman (Portrait of James Lee Byars as The sage of Rotterdam) 1984 – Paul Donker Duyvis

Some personal notes about James Lee Byars (1932-1997)

In my life I was able to curate two exhibitions with the work of James Lee Byars, sjaman, performer, dadaistic irritator and artist of sublime works.
In 1984 I ‘proposed and curated’ (words of JLB) a small project and presentation about James Lee Byars in the circular hall under the tower in Museum Boymans-van Beuningen (BvB).
The title was The Sage of Rotterdam is in the Tower  / De wijsgeer van Rotterdam zit in de toren (1984).
In 1974 in Berlin, artist James Lee Byars conceived the concept of the Golden Tower. He exhibited this project on different occasions, among them Documenta 7 (1982), in Kassel. His project in BvB is no doubt a variation. Byars told me often about his Golden Tower concept.

I was impressed by the work of James Lee Byars, but I am not sure if I understood everything well. The solo presentation of Byars in Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven (1983) with the incredible sculptural catalogue gave me a strong push to meet him. Together with Wink van Kempen, artist and organizer withLantaren/Venster of PerfoTime Rotterdam, we were discussing how to get him to Rotterdam as part of PerfoTime and invite him to Museum Boymans-van Beuningen (BvB).
So I proposed to my director Wim Beeren that I would like to do a project with James Lee Byars in BvB. Beeren said immediately Yes, OK and with a smile: ‘but you handle him yourself and solve any crazy troubles. I warn you, he is known for that…’

The same day, I invited Byars and he accepted right away. He visited the museum Boymans-van Beuningen and immediately he came up with the idea of Erasmus and using the tower as a symbol. Soon my role as curator changes in that of an ignorant student. Every day I received “advice”.  I had to empathize with his art in a way that I entirely on his behalf could handle the project. In his spirit I had to work for him and his presentation at the Museum.

The main topic of the small documentary presentation, organised more than six months after the Performance Project, is the book: – Erasmus – Praise of Folly (Latin: Stultitiae Laus) with the hat made of fresh roses on top of the book. Important is to exhibit this work with a hat of fresh roses.
The hat was made of bright red roses, made by a girl of the flower shop next to BvB. (under the ‘Boogjes’). It was so nice how she did it. She quickly understood everything. It would be nice to find her….
There was not enough light and I was afraid the picture would be too blurred. He suggested to go out into the light, but I insisted to do it in his temporary spiritual room in the tower, where he rested, meditated, or did nothing at all.
The photo came out not that bad and I decided to use it for the presentation in the museum.
Byars called his project: The Sage of Rotterdam is in the Tower.
A tribute to Rotterdam born Erasmus.

He did a daily street performance during daytime under the tower of museum BvB entertaining passengers. In the evening and night time he continued to ‘perform’ in the bars in Rotterdam. Wink and me, we shared the duty of being his company during his nightly escapades. One night he walked over ALL the cars in the street. Shouting  that he was the Sage of Rotterdam or just shouting whatever came up into his mind. Just to give you an idea…

The concept of Byars was that I made his presentation about the project according to my own idea, without his instructions. The only restriction was: it should include two photo’s I took from him. One in the tower of the Museum, the second in Venice during the Biennale. A summary was published in MuseumJournaal that year.
Byars did not want to see the presentation before the opening of the presentation after the project. He said only: “You know perfectly what to do!”
So I took the hat with the dried red roses from him and his book of Erasmus, that he carried with him all the time.  We went together to the bookshop to buy it during the brainstorm sessoins in the beginning. Furthermore I added two photo works of myself on his request and wrote two short texts.
The first photo I had to make immediately on one day, when the red roses were still fresh. I had only a small Minox camera, that I always carried with me in my pocket.
He gave me one hour. As always – now and immediately. For ‘one hour’ he was my model and did everything I wanted.

In a way it was my chance…During his project nobody was allowed to enter the small room in the top of the beautiful tower of the museum.
Of course I was curious. It was my chance to enter and see his domain. We went up and the room was unchanged with white walls and a small window. There was a falcon nest in the tower too. I decided to make a black background. Byars helped me.
I asked him to put his black veil completely over his face and to put on his favourite black outfit.
I wanted no parts of his body to be seen. All the concentration should be on the beautiful hat with fresh red roses and a vague imprint of his face. Now it looks a bit like a dead mask. I wanted to partrait him as a mysterious Sjaman, because that is how I saw him. Also ecause of his sensitive and spiritual use of materials.
I took the picture very quickly. There was a low ISO slide film in the camera. There was not enough light and I was afraid the picture would be too blurred. He suggested to go out into the light, but I insisted to do it in his temporary spiritual room in the tower, where he rested, meditated, or did nothing at all. The photo came out not that bad and I decided to use it for the presentation in the museum.

The second photo was a portrait I took of him in Venice (Biennale 1984) holding a small ball of pure gold, mirroring the round golden form on the roof of the Fondamente Salute (the very last point, in front of San Marco Square)

Later I donated the presentation, the book, the hat with roses, two small photos,  two texts and the black cardboard bottom of the vitrine to Museum Boymans-van Beuningen (to Piet de Jonge, curator Collections at that time).

Byars told me that he wanted me to print the two photos big, like 150 x 100 cm.
I did not realise what I learned a lot from him until he died. I took it for granted sometimes. I regret that now. Byars was radical, always positive, full of ideas  and totally devoted. This is what I admired most. He said that the best way to learn about whatever is to do whatever you do with dedication.
before he left Rotterdam he gave me three instructions:

 1-  Visit Japan. (I did that the same year!)      
2-  Quit my job after this project (I did)
3-  Become an artist (I did).

My first artwork had to be a portrait of him.
He insisted on that all the time and he would pose willingly for me on a day
he would announce, when I was not expecting it.

So from now on I had to be ready and sharp every day, all the time. with a camera in my pocket. I laughed about it, but it never left my brain. We spent many days and late alcoholic evenings together. We became friends and I photographed him many times after that project. Just snapshots. He liked that. Posing and seriously doing an interview he always postponed.

During his Venice-Biennale project with the Golden Ball, I was his guest. I followed him several days in Venice. Just the two of us. For the dinners he invited friends from the art world, artists, curators and so on. He paid all my expenses without any money. When we went to exclusive restaurants, he always managed to pay with drawings. He made an entertaining and spontaneous performance for the guests in the restaurant. He wrote elegantly all kind of texts on red Chinese rice paper. He always had a roll of this paper with him. He used to buy it in Amsterdam at Zeedijk / Niewmarkt. The letters were made of his famous five point stars with which he developed his own calligraphy. Beautiful works!

Most impressive was, to be his guest as witness with camera during his performance the Death of James Lee Byars in the gallery of Marie Puck Broodthaers in Brussels.
I got his short message. Just ‘Come’. I called him and he told me he had cancer. The same day I went to Brussels. I felt very strange, shocked and sad. We stayed together in the Broodthaers’ house in Brussls.

I was moved by the performance of Byars. As always it was real and to the point. The public was standing outside in the street.
We watched him from the street in the shop window of the gallery. After the performance he came out, embraced me and said I want you to sit in front of me during the dinner. Of course I called it his Last Supper.
I am definitely one of his disciples, but which one I do not know. I felt sometimes a bit like Judas. But he always waved that away…

On his request, I filmed this performance in the golden window room and the dinner afterwards. For the dinner he created an U-shaped table.
Byars sat at the middle of the U, in the centre, so he had a good view of everybody. He asked me to sit right in front of him. He asked me to keep on filming, during the dinner, whatever I want and as long as I want.
As always he was generously entertaining everybody. It seemed he was not affected by the news he would die soon. He did and said crazy things. As an entre-acte he did a performance:
throwing a raw egg on a big round glass with a golden circle in the middle. The circle was hold by two guests as fast as I remember. Also this performance is on video. I still have the video on Hi8 format.

After that night Byars, Marie Puck and me went home. We had another drink and stayed up until late. Byars telling anecdotes and memorising his friendship with Marcel Broodthaers, the father of Marie Puck. All this took place in this amous house, full of visible and invisible memories, where he often stayed since 1969.
No doubt this was the most impressive drinking night I had spent with Byars.
I have never looked at the video again. Byars never asked about it either. Just he asked: did you record it?

After the project in Boymans we had met very often.
On main occasions such as:
– his solo show at the Kunsthalle Düsseldorf: ‘James Lee Byars—Beauty Goes Avantgarde‘ (1986)
– a few times in Venice during the Biennale.
– Big international events such as Documenta

– Couplet 2, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (1994)
– The Death of James Lee Byars, Galerie Marie-Puck Broodthaers, Brussels (1994) and many times in between when he was around.

The last time was in Amsterdam with Marie Puck Broodthaers. Byars was already very ill. I wanted to show him the interior of the former townhall of Amsterdam at Dam square, now Royal Palace unfortunately. White marble (next to gold and silk) is a favourite material of Byars. He said he was too ill to enter. I told him that I wrote my master’s thesis about the townhall of seventeen’s century Amsterdam. That I liked to be his teacher, just for an hour. So he came with me, together with Marie Puck. Both of us supporting him, Byars between us. It was very difficult to walk for him. The former townhall is full of marble sculptures, especially in the Tribunal (Vierschaar).
I love these sculptures. You can see them daily if you look through the windows.
The weeping lady, bare breasted with her hands covering her face, is very deer to me. It was the last sculpture we saw before we went out. He had to rest.
After the tour we sat on a terrace at Dam square looking at the huge dark building we had just visited. Soon he recovered and he tossed a whole glass of water over the elegant white blouse of Marie Puck. She wore no bra, so it became a see-through-blouse. He asked the public to watch this miracle of the bare breasts.
Everybody watching and laughing. This is my last memory of James Lee Byars…

Years later I stayed two days at the house of Marcel Broodthaers again, now the permanent home of his daughter Marie Puck. I was there to make an homage exhibition about James Lee Byars. It took place in Faxx in Tilburg in 2001. She owned some of the latest works of Byars.
She lend all of them to the exhibition. As  did Vincent Vlasblom, collector in Hoorn and owner of very beautiful drawings and books of James Lee Byars.
The title of this exhibition was: The 5 fabulous is one.
It took place in FAXX, Center for visual Arts in Tilburg, 2001

https://ddmfotografie.wordpress.com/2016/02/14/james-lee-byars-memo/

Byars was a warm and very faithful friend.
I was his lousy friend. He was always crazy, overwhelming, unexpected and full of improvisations. He had a lot of guts.
Beuys was his secrete maecenas, an old friend and his hero.
Byars had rarely money or a proper home neither kept any administration. He always relied on friends who helped him out.
Byars was afraid of nothing and nobody.
In Japanese Buddhism the character Ku (空) stands for Emptiness, Space, Sky.
Void in a spiritual way.

Attempting emptiness to make space for higher thinking.
Byars was quite far in that.
For him the sky always was the limit.
Byars died in 1997, the year that my first – half-Japanese – child was born.

Paul Donker Duyvis

pddstudio / ddmfoto
www.jaitaran.com/pddstudio

 

erasmus book-2

pdd-JL BYARS-THE SAGE OF ROTTERDAM 1984 HR 05b

The Sjaman (Portrait of JLB) 1984 – Paul Donker Duyvis

After his death I organised an exhibition in 2001
as a small hommage to this original and sharp artist: 
James lee Byars: The 5 fabulous is one

0003255byars_j
Byars is Elephant 1979 Installation
Uitnodigingskaart  Faxx 2001
The 5 fabulous is one
foto Marie Puck Broodthaers

James Lee Byars: The 5 fabulous is one
Exhibition Faxx, Tilburg 2001

Gastcurator Paul Donker Duyvis, tijdelijk actief voor het Tilburgse Centrum voor Beeldende Kunst FAXX, organiseerde een tentoonstelling van de in 1997 in Egypte overleden kunstenaar
James Lee Byars, performer, filosoof, ontregelaar, sjamaan en beeldend kunstenaar. Byars is bekend van grote tentoonstellingen als de Documenta in Kassel en de Biennale van Venetië. James Lee Byars, geboren in Detroit in 1932, is een raadselachtig kunstenaar die meer bekendheid geniet in Europa dan in zijn geboorteland. Hij studeerde aan de Waye State University, en vertrok in 1958 voor verdere studie naar Japan. Zijn verblijf in Japan beïnvloedde zijn latere werk. Hij maakte evocatieve uitvouwbare sculpturen van papierstroken, sommige tot 300 meter lang, die zorgvuldig ontvouwd werden tijdens zijn publieke optredens. Behalve het gebruik van fragiel materiaal als papier, koos hij fluweel, zijde en goudlamé voor zijn kleding en kunst. Toen hij in 1972 was uitgenodigd voor de Documenta, gaf hij een memorabele performance gekleed in rode zijde, losse Duitse woorden uitsprekend door een gouden megafoon vanaf de top van het Fredericanum in Kassel. Behalve Japan was ook Europa de plaats voor veel van zijn werk en hij bleef daar zijn esthetische belangstelling ontwikkelen. James Lee Byars ging in 1969 voor het eerst naar Europa en werkte met zowel Joseph Beuys als Marcel Broodthaers aan gemeenschappelijke stukken. Byars bleef met papier en kostbare stoffen werken, gemakkelijk wisselend tussen het voorbijgaande en het duurzame, terwijl hij tegelijkertijd investeerde in sculpturale ondernemingen gemaakt van brons, zandsteen, marmer en aangepast antiek meubilair. James Lee Byars heeft zich als kunstenaar gedurende zijn leven aan één thema gewijd: het sublieme, het verhevene, de “volmaakte schoonheid”, zoals hij het zelf formuleerde. Daarbij ging het hem niet om afzonderlijke voorwerpen, maar slechts om een idee. Zo betekende het materiaal goud voor Byars “de meest abstracte mogelijkheid van het verhevene”. Goud, schreef Byars ooit, is “van een zodanige mate van abstractie, dat het je – wanneer je het artistiek toepast – al op een verheven vlak tegemoet treedt”. Byars’ gouden en stoffen objecten omlijsten in wezen in hun materialiteit het eigenlijke werk. Hij vindt zijn objecten, of laat ze maken, en presenteert ze dan aan ons op een vragende manier: “Wat denk je, bestaan deze dingen echt? Zouden we beter af zijn zonder ze? Hoe worden ze gewaardeerd? Is deze ‘setting’ beter dan de banaliteit waaraan ze overstijgt ? En zo ja, hoe kunnen we aannemen dat we zien wat goed is en wat beter, wat juist is en wat perfect is? En is ‘zien’ wel genoeg?” De implicatie van het werk van Byars is dat we zouden moeten luisteren, bijvoorbeeld naar de onzichtbare vragen die vermoedelijk de lucht rondom zijn werken vullen.

Presentatie CD en boekje The Death of James Lee Byars.
Zondag 25 november 2001 tijdens de opening van de tentoonstelling
“The 5 fabulous is one” met werk van
James Lee Byars in FAXX in Tilburg, heeft gastcurator Paul Donker Duyvis het eerste exemplaar van de CD
“The death of James Lee Byars” overhandigd aan Marie Puck Broodthaers, galeriehoudster in Brussel en dochter van Marcel Broodthaers, een levenslange vriend van Byars.
Op de CD is een monoloog te horen van Thomas McEvilley, die hij op 1 juni 1997, ruim een week na het overlijden van Byars, uitsprak in Venetië. In deze monoloog vertelt McEvilley over de laatste dagen van James Lee Byars in een hotel en in het hospitaal in Cairo. Het begeleidende boekje bevat ruim veertig teksten van Eric Orr over de kunstenaar. In deze “emblemata”, of “vignetten” zoals Orr ze noemt, haalt hij emotionele herinneringen op aan zijn vele bijzondere ervaringen met Byars.
Realisatie: Ulay, André Mesman en Buro Vlasblom & Partners. Verkoopprijs € 75,- .

James Lee Byars , “The 5 fabulous is one”
FAXX podium voor hedendaagse kunst – Tilburg
Van 25 november t/m 24 februari 2002
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Talk%3AJames_Lee_Byars

a
Pagina 16, Jaargang 14, nr. 21 de Nieuwe 2010 Uitgave Arti et Amicitiae

 

James Lee Byars – The Sage of Rotterdam is in the Tower 1984

Pagina 16, Jaargang 14, nr. 21 de Nieuwe 2010 Uitgave Arti et Amicitiae:

In 1984 organiseerde ik een project met de Amerikaanse kunstenaar James Lee Byars (1932 -1997) onder de titel de wijsgeer van Rotterdam zit zit in de toren. Het project maakte ook deel uit van de door Wink van Kempen geïnitieerde manifestatie Perfo Tijd. Kort daarvoorr had ik een magistrale expositie van Byars in het van Abbemuseum gezien. Vol geestdrift snelde ik naar de kamer van Wim Beeren, directeur van Museum Boymans-van Beuningen met de vraag of ik een kleine expositie met Byars mocht doen. “Dat is goed’ zei hij ‘onder twee voorwaarden: geen budgetoverschrijding en ik wil er verder niet mee lastig gevallen worden, alle alle problemen zelf oplossen’. Drie minuten later stond ik weer buiten.

Byars is bekend van grote tentoonstellingen als de Documenta in Kassel en de Biennale van Venetië. James Lee Byars, geboren in Detroit in 1932, is een raadselachtig kunstenaar die meer bekendheid geniet in Europa dan in zijn geboorteland. Hij studeerde aan de Waye State University, en vertrok in 1958 voor verdere studie naar Kyoto in Japan, waar hij tien jaar zou blijven. Zijn verblijf in Japan be?beïnvloedde zijn latere werk. Hij maakte evocatieve uitvouwbare sculpturen van papierstroken, sommige tot 300 meter lang, die zorgvuldig, cerebraal en theatraal ontvouwd werden tijdens zijn publieke optredens. Behalve het gebruik van fragiel materiaal als papier, behalve wit marmer, koos hij fluweel, zijde en goud voor zijn kleding en kunst. Toen hij in 1972 was uitgenodigd voor de Documenta, gaf hij een memorabele performance gekleed in rode zijde, losse Duitse woorden uitsprekend door een gouden megafoon vanaf de top van het Fredericanum in Kassel.

James Lee Byars ging in 1969 voor het eerst naar Europa en werkte met zowel Joseph Beuys als Marcel Broodthaers aan gemeenschappelijke performanceachtige manifestaties. Byars bleef met papier en kostbare stoffen werken, gemakkelijk wisselend tussen het voorbijgaande en het duurzame, tussen vrolijke baldadigheid en geconcentreerde aandacht. Altijd was er die onvoorwaardelijke overgave. Tegelijkertijd investeerde in kostbare installaties en sculpturale ondernemingen gemaakt van brons, zandsteen, marmer en aangepast antiek meubilair. Byars heeft zich als kunstenaar gedurende zijn leven aan een thema gewijd: het sublieme, het verhevene, de “volmaakte schoonheid”, zoals hij het zelf formuleerde. Daarbij ging het hem niet om afzonderlijke voorwerpen, maar slechts om een idee. Zo betekende het materiaal goud voor Byars “de meest abstracte mogelijkheid van het verhevene”. Goud, schreef Byars ooit, is “van een zodanige mate van abstractie, dat het je – wanneer je het artistiek toepast – al op een verheven vlak tegemoet treedt”. Byars’ gouden en stoffen objecten omlijsten in wezen in hun materialiteit het eigenlijke werk. Hij vindt zijn objecten, of laat ze maken, en presenteert ze dan aan ons op een vragende manier: “Wat denk je, bestaan deze dingen echt? Zouden we beter af zijn zonder ze? Hoe worden ze gewaardeerd? Is deze ‘setting’ beter dan de banaliteit waaraan ze overstijgt ? En zo ja, hoe kunnen we aannemen dat we zien wat goed is en wat beter, wat juist is en wat perfect is? En is ‘zien’ wel genoeg?” De implicatie van het werk van Byars is dat we zouden moeten luisteren, bijvoorbeeld naar de onzichtbare vragen die vermoedelijk de lucht rondom zijn werken vullen. En altijd op zoek naar de Zen-achtige Perfect Question, gesymboliseerd door de kleine Q, die in veel van zijn beelden is gebeiteld.

Al snel veranderde mijn rol van conservator in die van onwetende leerling. Elke dag kreeg ik opdrachten en adviezen. Zo moest ik me zo inleven in zijn zijn kunst dat ik namens hem geheel naar eigen inzicht, maar geheel in zijn geest zijn werk voor de presentatie in het Museum moest maken. Ook moest ik naar Japan, ontslag nemen, het museum verlaten en zelf dingen gaan maken. Uiteraard heb ik alle aanbevelingen opgevolgd. Mijn eerste werk moest zijn een portret van Byars. Ik vroeg hem zijn onafscheidelijke zwarte blinddoek af te doen en zijn gezicht totaal te bedekken. Ik wilde hem tonen als een geheimzinnige Sjamaan, als een orakel. Aldus geschiedde…

In culturen buiten de onze heeft de wijze guru op de berg, de sjamaan in de bossen, de heremiet op de zuil, de filosoof in de ton, een vaste plaats verworven. Niet gebonden door de strijd om het dagelijkse bestaan, staat hij in contact met werelden en denkbeelden die buiten ons omgaan. Hij maakt zich vrij voor reflectie en het doorgronden van het menselijk bestaan. Voor hen die steun en wijsheid zoeken vervult hij een belangrijke en gerespecteerde rol.

Heeft de praktisch ingestelde leefgemeenschap Rotterdam geen behoefte aan een opvolger van Erasmus, aan een nieuwe wijsgeer, aan een ontbrekende schakel in de Rotterdamse Cultuur? De kunstenaar James Lee Byars heeft voor hem vast een ruimte geschapen in de toren van Museum Boymans-van Beuningen – hoog boven het dagelijkse gewoel. Het wachten is op de komst van de wijze die de perfecte vraag stelt.

Paul Donker Duyvis in: Pagina 16, Jaargang 14, nr. 21 de Nieuwe 2010 Uitgave Arti et Amicitiae, Amsterdam
www.denieuwe.nl

 

Leave a Reply

